House Price Crash Forum

My Recent Business Trip To China

I just got back from a 3 week business trip in China and it has been a fascinating experience. I actually really enjoyed travelling around; it was pretty easy and efficient even though at times language was a bit of an issue. Strangely enough, I've really been wrestling with a few questions whilst I've been over there and have found myself beating myself up about how messed up and dysfunctional the UK has become.

I am a Risk Engineer and I’ve spent all my time inspecting factories in and around Beijing, Tianjin, Suzhou, Taicang and Shanghai, so have travelled a reasonable amount and seen what an immense and sometimes quite foreboding county China is. I've also seen those insane empty high rise housing estates everywhere which we seem to hear about – pretty scary!

Sitting here at home in my office this morning I'm really struggling to see how things are going to improve in the UK and how we are going to get this country back on track. Yes I know that China is effectively a state-run dictatorship and an awful lot of what we read here in the media describes how bad China is and how its human rights record is so bad etc. etc. but actually I was very humbled by some of the things I saw over there, and the way that people generally conduct themselves. I came away thinking that actually China is a very impressive country which looks after its own interests and I actually really respect that when compared with the current situation here in the UK.