House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

GordonBrownSpentMyFuture

Bcs - The Chartered Institute For It

So... BCS (British Computer Society) - The Chartered Institute for IT

About BCS - The Chartered Institute for IT

On Wikipedia

Knowing there are a lot of IT professionals on this site I was wondering whether any of you are members of the BCS / The Chartered Institute for IT.

Is it worth the £100+ a year membership? Has it made a difference to your career or made your CV / business card appear more impressive?

I'm in two minds. I'm an IT professional (well, not "I.T." - I'm a developer) and know my skills speak for themselves (in addition to qualifications) - so is it really worth joining up for the sake of it just to say I'm a member and to (possibly) receive a bi-monthly newsletter?

Are you a member? Have you considered it? Is it worth it? What are your thoughts?

Thanks.

I find it strange that you are not permitted to design a bridge or building without being a chartered civil engineer, same with electronic appliances, can't do planning without chartered plannign status etc

and yet chartered status is not sought by corporate employers to manage/deliver their IT projects, and yet IT is synonymous with large pockets of incompetence; I suspect that this is significantly due to the lack of promotion of chartered status and professional standards supported by this status

I'm not chartered status as I have never seen it being required, but it should be IMHO

I think being a Chartered member of the IET or IMechE will be much more useful abroad and in the UK than the BCS. The BCS always seems a bit wishy-washy in the way a lot of IT is.