House Price Crash Forum
Alexj

Fair Wear And Tear

Is "fair wear and tear" a subjective thing or is it defined somewhere?

I've been renting for 2 years and the house has had quite a lot fo damp, especially around the metal-framed windows. Now I'm moving out and a pair or the landlords curtains has a lot of damp on it. Several of my possessions have been damaged by the damp too over the last two years and I've complained to the landlord, asking him to do something about it several times, but he's just ignored me (or sympathised and then ignored!).

I think I've done everything I reasonably could to protect the landlord's curtains and my possessions i.e. mop up the water on the window sills each day, scrub off the mould when it appeared on the walls and windows and air the rooms as much as possible without making the house an icebox in the winter.

I showed the damp to the landlord and he shrugged and sympathised. Then I told him they are his wife's curtains and he seemed less at ease when he realised that its his stuff that is damaged this time.

Today, he asked me to pay for the curtains to be professionally cleaned. I am refusing on the basis that its fair wear and tear given the conditions in the house which the landlord has failed to address.

Am I right (legally) or will the landlord probably win if we end up taking this to a deposit tribunal? Does anyone know how fair wear and tear is decided upon?

sorry that should have read the curtains are mouldy because of the damp in the room

This wouldn't be considered 'fair wear and tear' but the damage would not be considered to be your fault. It is the result of a damp condition that was the landlord's responsibility to rectify. You made him aware of the problem on numerous occasions (hopefully in written form at least once) and he chose to do nothing.

It will be a pain, but you have nothing to worry about.