House Price Crash Forum

Padlock Or Not

bendy

HOLA441

do you padlock your outbuildings?

i've just put a shed up, stuffed a load of stuff in in nothing of massive value but some i'd be pissed off with replacing.

so does a padlock attract or repel potential thieves?

:unsure:

HOLA442
HOLA443

i've just put a shed up, stuffed a load of stuff in in nothing of massive value but some i'd be pissed off with replacing.

Most sheds have padlocks but if you have have a suitable door then stick a chubb lock on it. If standard wooden shed door then don't spend a fortune on the padlock and keep it fairly small. Crims will rip the door of it's hinges if they want to gain entry.

HOLA444

Most sheds have padlocks but if you have have a suitable door then stick a chubb lock on it.

Apropos to nothing, I'm a truck driver and I once took everything needed to fit out a building as a bank to Krasnodar in southern Russia- everything from the re-inforcement for the walls to the pens-on-a-chain which were to sit on the desk.

When I got there, Russian Customs were their usual obstructive selves and it took over a week to do Customs clearance- which at least gave me a chance to do some sightseeing.

The manifest had to be translated into Russian and they got a local girl to do it, and after about four days in the Customs compound I was summonsed to the Chief's office. He pointed a fat finger at the manifest and snarled something.

The translator, who was clearly terrified, said "He wants to know what this item is, the "security fish".

So I rolled my eyes a bit

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

And said...

"It's not a security fish, it's a Chubb safe". :lol:

HOLA445