House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

InvestmentByker

So Apparently Its Easy To Get A Uk Visa Then?

I have been browsing this site since 2006/7 and I know there are more than a few bright sparks who, if my memory serves me correctly, may have worked for the UK Border Agency..(I have already tried the UK Border Agencies website).

I need some help...

Essentially my Partner is expecting our first child. I am a UK resident and have always lived in the UK. She lives in South America. As I am the dad I thought it would make getting her a visa pretty easy but it seems not.

All I need to know is how can I get her Indefinite Leave to Remain? What are the chances of getting that before the baby is born (7 months away)?

The facts:

She speaks good English. University Educated

I have enough money to demonstrate I can support us (house deposit :-) )

I am a higher rate taxpayer (so I will be zero burden on the UK taxpayer depsite contributing more than my share over the years)

I rent accomodation

Private Health Insurance

My ideal situation is that I get her ILR so we can live together here in the UK. If this has very little chance of succeeding what are my options?

1) getting her a 6 month visa and then deliberately overstaying?

2) marrying her - I would prefer to do this at a later point tbh?

Any ideas?

I have been browsing this site since 2006/7 and I know there are more than a few bright sparks who, if my memory serves me correctly, may have worked for the UK Border Agency..(I have already tried the UK Border Agencies website).

I need some help...

Essentially my Partner is expecting our first child. I am a UK resident and have always lived in the UK. She lives in South America. As I am the dad I thought it would make getting her a visa pretty easy but it seems not.