House Price Crash Forum
aussieboy

How To Manage Vendors' Pricing Expectations

I'm off househunting tomorrow (don't ask - no choice) and was wondering whether any people on the forum had any ideas of questions to ask that produce answers that have a negative effect on the asking price.

I'm thinking:

How noisey are your neighbours?

How much did you buy the place for and when?

Are you in a hurry to move?

Etc

I'm a cash buyer in no hurry and I'm only looking at houses which have been on the market a while and have already been reduced in price (I have read this forum for a while...)

BTW it's in Sheffield: the market there is going south rapidly at the moment BTW (I've been monitoring it for 18 months on a spreadsheet like the sad man I am) but I'll let you know what the vibe is in the specific geography forum when I get back.

Cheers

aussieboy

Guest absolutezero
I'm off househunting tomorrow (don't ask - no choice) and was wondering whether any people on the forum had any ideas of questions to ask that produce answers that have a negative effect on the asking price.

I'm thinking:

Etc

I'm a cash buyer in no hurry and I'm only looking at houses which have been on the market a while and have already been reduced in price (I have read this forum for a while...)

BTW it's in Sheffield: the market there is going south rapidly at the moment BTW (I've been monitoring it for 18 months on a spreadsheet like the sad man I am) but I'll let you know what the vibe is in the specific geography forum when I get back.

Cheers

aussieboy

Of course you have a choice.

Rent for a year and buy when cheap. The market has further South to go.

Or my favourite: "Why are you selling";

1) Looking for smaller place - Ans. Ah, yes, it's quite big I guess it's draughty and difficult to heat in winter.

2) Bigger place - Ans. Yes, it is a bit on the small side isn't it....

etc, etc. :ph34r:

Suggestions:

Why are you moving?

Do you get on with your neighbours?