House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
New Bear

The Tide Is Turning

Hi everyone,

I'm a new member but I've been using the website for a few months now before taking the plunge. I've got two comments and a question

First, I want to say thanks to you all for the various discussions I've read. I sold a house in Scotland in May to move south of the border. Although I was shocked at the prices I might well have bought just because like most people at that time I had not really looked into the housing market. I was relying on the sites of the various vested interests until I came across HPC. It persuaded me not to rent not buy. On top of that I've learnt a hell of a lot about how the economy works. So a big thanks.

Second, when I first started suggesting to people I know that prices were set to fall no-one believed me or were at best sceptical. Gradually that sentiment has moved. For example (just one among many), a few weeks ago a colleague told me he was about to remortage to fund the purchase of a flat in London for his daughter. I seriously tried to persuade him that it would be disasterous. He insisted that he should do it and that it was "all about location". Yesterday he told me his daughter had gone to see the flat with a friend who happnes to be an economist. His advice was exactly the same as mine and he's decided not to go ahead. He's also begun to see that the UK economy is in deep trouble. His daughter will now rent for at least another year. I noticed over the summer that confidence in the crash (however we define that) started to weaken among posters on the site. My message is to hang on because in my experience sentiment among ordinary people is rapidly changing.