House Price Crash Forum

Have Your Wages Really Gone Up In Recent Years?

HOLA441

Hi All,

I was checking how various prices had inflated the other day using this Inflation Calculator and I thought i'd stick the salary of my current job in from when I started almost 10 years ago.

I was suprised to see it return almost to the penny what my current salary is.

So considering in the last 10 years tax and stealth tax has increased, if my salary has effectively remained static due to inflation it's not suprising I actually feel less well off as the government is now taking a bigger slice.

I'm an IT professional (25 years experience) currently with a large global company and I didn't think I was on a particularly great salary (happy enough though as I only have a 5 minute commute) but having recently been looking at what jobs are available I haven't seen anything out there paying close to what I get (except obviously in London). :o

How have the rest of you done? Have your salaries also been static compared to inflation or better or worse?

HOLA442
HOLA443

Mine is much higher, nearly double in real terms according to that calculator, over the last 10 years. That's mostly because I have advanced quite a bit in my career and made some correct choices in terms of which job I took on.

I personally think inflation is much higher than official figures so my pay rise is not as good as it would seem.

HOLA444

Hi All,

I was checking how various prices had inflated the other day using this Inflation Calculator and I thought i'd stick the salary of my current job in from when I started almost 10 years ago.

So considering in the last 10 years tax and stealth tax has increased, if my salary has effectively remained static due to inflation it's not suprising I actually feel less well off as the government is now taking a bigger slice.