House Price Crash Forum
Fairies Wear Boots

How Much Do You Think You Have Saved?

At the start of summer 2007 I looked at a place in London for 340K, I thought it was a bit overpriced and lo and behold, it dropped to an asking price of 320K. I put an offer in, completely derisory and under 300K (estate agent all but refrained from laughing at me). And it sold pretty quickly afterwards and came up on land registry as having sold for 317K.

I saw a house in same road, with same sized garden, and what looks to be exactly the same house layout, asking price 300K. My mate, a non HPCer commented today that I could probably get it for 270K. I've been paying 14K a year on rent for the last two years. Less in 2008 and 2009. And I would have only paid off so much capital as I would have had to service interest. So even in "last to go down London". I'm still well up on the deal. Hurrah! May the second leg of the crash start hitting max crash speed!

I looked at a house in a town not too far away . In April 2009 it was on sale at 360K --- now it is on sale at 165K and still not selling. I've spent about 25K in rent. I am winning big time.

This is in Northern Ireland

Crashtastic!

I see some of the tremendous bargains in places like California, Florida and Ireland, and wonder whether drops as juicy as that will come Londons way. House prices around here were more than double in 2007 than 2002, so here's hoping.

At the start of summer 2007 I looked at a place in London for 340K, I thought it was a bit overpriced and lo and behold, it dropped to an asking price of 320K. I put an offer in, completely derisory and under 300K (estate agent all but refrained from laughing at me). And it sold pretty quickly afterwards and came up on land registry as having sold for 317K.