House Price Crash Forum
bpw

The Staggering Costs Of Not Buying European

I have been watching the travails of the Eurofighter program for some time and have found some interesting facts which will have an impact on the bottom line of Britains and the EUs bottom line. The numbers are truly staggering when you add up total expenditure on US made weapons.

From a website:

Like the rest posting here I am a curious amateur - albeit with a PhD in engineering.

There are a few big misconceptions in the posts here. So it's worth taking some time to set the record straight about the Eurofighter which is, after the Raptor, the most effective air superiority fighter available today, and likely for the next one or two decades. Here are some points of fact and speculation, you decide which is which!

First thing. All should note is there is no such thing as a modern jet that 'flies in' on time, and on budget. For that matter, every major defense procurement, since the 1960s, has run over its' budget, leading to 'shock and horror' stories in the press, worse still the problems have led to poor political decisions being made, like Britain's cancellation of the TSR2 program and Canada's cancellation of the Arrow. In return, we all got General Dynamics F111 rammed down our throats as its' costs escalated wildly, and performance proved mediocre at best. If the British Labor government had stuck with TSR2 it would have transformed Britain's aerospace industry.