House Price Crash Forum
DownsizingDiva

Is This The Beginning Of The "fear" Phase?

I am looking to buy within a 10 mile radius of Winchester, and this one has just popped up on Propertybee:

http://www.rightmove.co.uk/property-for-sale/property-17496882.html

Please don't slate me if the link doesn't work properly, as I'm not very good at this.

Just in case it doesn't, it's a SIX bedroom, detached house which came onto the market in November at £299,950, was reduced in January to £289,950, then again in March to £275,000. Now they are saying it's £250,000 "for a limited time only".

My first thoughts were, "for a limited time only at £250,000 - then we will reduce it again..."

These people are obviously very keen to sell - pity most of the other sellers in the Winchester area aren't...

denial fear anger bargaining acceptance

I think we are about to hit the denial stage properly...

I suspect tax credit reductions are going to be the thing that takes credit for bringing this whole thing forward.

Up until now we've had twinges of denial and fear but nothing widespread. The sheeple have been immune.

Now tax credits are being removed (and how people will scream that on 40k a year they need their tax credits) we'll start to see the denial ramping up to a crescendo.

I'm curious to hear when fellow HPCers think "the bottom" will be? (I'm taking it for granted that there will be a crash, followed by a bottom, followed by the next bubble!!) I'm thinking 2013-14?

Thinking about the nation beyond the bankers' paradise that is London of course.

I'm curious to hear when fellow HPCers think "the bottom" will be? (I'm taking it for granted that there will be a crash, followed by a bottom, followed by the next bubble!!) I'm thinking 2013-14?

Thinking about the nation beyond the bankers' paradise that is London of course.

That's probably about right, give or take a year or three.

That's probably about right, give or take a year or three.