House Price Crash Forum
pajd

Mortgage Broker Begs Mr. Redwood For Less Regulation

I wrote another letter to Grant Scapps and John Redwood today, here;

Hello Mr Redwood,

Despite repossessions having always been confined to less than 1% of home owners, overly zealous FSA regulation has lead to millions of perfectly able mature hitherto autonomous adults not even being given a chance at home ownership, the very foundation of our society, the very motivator that keeps so many people focused on betterment.

WHY AM I SENDING YOU THIS EMAIL? > I am not some bitter vested interest. As a mortgage broker I make more money now that people really need me.

The reason I am sending you this is because no one in Government seems to be aware of the toxic effect FSA retail mortgage regulation is having on public sentiment. It is killing off peoples ambition, drive, and creating a mass underclass of RENTERS that have lost their aim, their aspiration and their KEY GOAL, of buying a home of their own.

Without such a goal on the horizon, many simply drift now like jellyfish.

Without the life blood of property transaction, many other related purchases are not made.

Everyone I meet on the ground is talking about this, but no one in Government or the media has twigged this sea change.

“I already know Banks are not lending”, I hear you cry.

Mr Redwood, what no one realises is that the cause for Banks lending reticence is FSA retail regulation.

REMEMBER, THE UK MORTGAGE MARKET WAS NOT PARTICULARLY THE CAUSE OF THE CRASH. For sure we can’t go back to all of the lending extravagances but the balance has tipped much too far the other away.