House Price Crash Forum

Public Sector In Coventry

HOLA441
HOLA442
HOLA443

The Harpers sound a bit worried...

We have just bought a decrepit house to renovate. This was a big decision, and a big risk, given we both work in the public sector, which faces huge cuts. The falling euro is eroding our profit on the sale of our property abroad, the UK housing market is stagnant, and the cost of our renovation project is increasing. We are wondering if we have made the right decision or should have just sat tight.

HOLA444
Claire Lee

Biology teacher

I have an MSc, Diploma in Education, classroom assistant experience and a mortgage and wedding to pay for. My concerns include increased classroom sizes with fewer support assistants, fewer opportunities for promotion, and limited funding for practical experiments. Increased pension payments, pay freezes and limitations regarding satisfactory work life balance are a personal worry.

my heart bleeds

Christopher Denson

Physics teacher, Tile Hill Wood School

It's likely to be very difficult for Coventry as a whole. The government is using the fact that we had a budget deficit to attack the workers in the public sector. The speed at which changes are being made is frightening. Our school is in the process of applying for academy status, which will have a disastrous effect not only on our pupils, but also on the most deprived students from across the city.

you too

Alayna May-Browne, 34, Policy Co-ordination Manager at Becta

what is a policy co-ordination manager and how much does it earn??

one thing that stands out, or seems to, is that the younger they are, the greater sense of entitlement comes out in their writing, especially teachers

HOLA445

The Harpers sound a bit worried...