House Price Crash Forum
Liquidity

Moving To The North West -- Where To Buy In Stockport (First Time Buyer)

Hi,

I am a young professional (with a partner) on the look for a nice 2/3 bedroom house (preferably semi detached), with a view to buy towards the end of 2011. My budget is 150K.

I am not from the North West but have always been fond of the Manchester region. I have chosen Stockport, primarily because I hear it is a nice place to live and it is conveniently situated close to the A6 / A623. I will be commuting from Stockport to Chesterfield on a daily basis (40 miles), which is why I need to be around that side of Manchester, as opposed to the north side.

Q1) Could you please advise as to where I should be looking in Stockport? Is my budget is realistic?

Q2) Could you also pelase advise if Stockport is a good place to buy a first home amid that region.? I am in it for the long term and want to buy a house in a location where there is a likelihood of the property gaining substantial value in the coming 5 to 8 years.

Q3) I would also consider other areas, so long as they 1) Fall under Manchester/Greater Manchester and 2) Are not too far from Chesterfield (i.e. under 50miles). Any ideas?

Many thanks

Liquidity

"...buy a house in a location where there is a likelihood of the property gaining substantial value in the coming 5 to 8 years".

:rolleyes:

Here's hoping that in 5 to 8 years we won't have people looking to acquiring substantial money just by buying and selling a house.

Have you done a trial run of the commute? That sounds a nightmare run to me - unless you're going well outside peak hours. Certainly don't rely on Google Directions distances etc when involving the A6!

You don't say where your partner works/will work.