House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
pezo

Whats The Difference?

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to all this and have basically done a quick economics 101 by reading this board and putting 2 and 2 together to make what usually turns out to be 12.

I see the BBC are running a story about inflation in Vietnam running at 13.9% due to the fact it devalued its currency by 8.5% so they have raised interest rates. Link

What I don't seem to get is why is inflation there so high relative to the UK or the US where it was also devalued (or was it devalued as my understanding is that QE can be clawed back), or is Vietnam just an extreme case of what happened here? i.e. did they devalue by more % of there base money supply than we did? If so what are there chances of hyper inflation relative to the UK and US which is where a number of people on here seem to think the UK and/or the US are heading.

I could easily be wrong in my assumptions or could be being a bit to logical about it all but its going to take a far smarter person than me to figure it all out!

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to all this and have basically done a quick economics 101 by reading this board and putting 2 and 2 together to make what usually turns out to be 12.

I see the BBC are running a story about inflation in Vietnam running at 13.9% due to the fact it devalued its currency by 8.5% so they have raised interest rates. Link

What I don't seem to get is why is inflation there so high relative to the UK or the US where it was also devalued (or was it devalued as my understanding is that QE can be clawed back), or is Vietnam just an extreme case of what happened here? i.e. did they devalue by more % of there base money supply than we did? If so what are there chances of hyper inflation relative to the UK and US which is where a number of people on here seem to think the UK and/or the US are heading.