House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
onedaymaybe

Pure Anecdotal- Opinions Please

I am a HPC addict, but have never posted beofre so am bravely starting a new topic if thats OK.

I graduated from Uni 4 years ago and last night had a big reunion of most of my fellow students and just wanted to post this. For my own part, I bought a house at age 21 with a partner, but sold it when we split when I was 28 and used the little profit I had to help my education. I had a great time, both at Uni and doing a fair bit of travelling, and only partly regret this now that I find myself unable to 'get on the ladder' again, having a new partner and at 36 wanting to start a family- I had a good time!!!

We were a group of 26-40 year olds last night discussing our current situations and it was quite shocking, so thought I would share it here.

We all started studying in 98- the year where grants were got rid of and student loans were the only option, with the repayment threshold of 10k. Some, granted, had family support, but being a 'new university' and all that often entails, most people were self-supporting and over the years despite working part time etc have all got at least 10k in student loans to repay, and many (myself included) other personal debts. I would say that at least 3 quarters of the group are still struggling financially to pay off these debts even with good jobs (but many are stuck still with McJobs despite good degrees). The majority were saying that they can see no way of being able to afford to buy a home in the near future, although they would love to and dare not start families as they would never be able to meet repayments on comittments- both male and female said this.