House Price Crash Forum
Economic Sensation

House Prices And Interest Rates-what Do You Think?

We have been having an argument about the furture direction of house prices and interest rates in this post http://www.housepricecrash.co.uk/forum/ind...pic=15922&st=60 and as an analyst i see there are a massive difference of opinion. Some bullish, most bearish (as should be expected on this site).

I would like to get a consensus of opinion about where people think interest rates and house prices (as per the hometrack survey http://www.hometrack.co.uk/index.cfm?fuseaction=news.news ). Please don't put down your arguments other than a consise one liner, its just so that we can come back in July next year and see where the reality is compared to what we all feel and who was closest.

BoE interest rates are currently 4.5% after being cut by .25% in August.

The national average house price stands at £161,000, down from a peak of £167,700 in June last year and down over 2.7% in the past 12 months.

My view is by the close of June 2006 is:-

BoE Interest rates will be at 3.75%

National average house price will be £163,000 - £165,000.

Please take a minute to enter in a figure, i am interested to see exactly how bearish some people are and what the range of opinons are. If you want to have a rant about it please do it in the other forum.

Thanks for humouring me

ES :)

Reaction based on my misunderstanding of economic fundamentals to date and gut feel about where I think the economy is headed... given this is what you've asked for.

June 2006:

IR: 4.5%

Avg House price: £158k

IR 4.5% kept low against their better judgement by the MPC because of zero growth...

CPI 3.2% and goalposts on target inflation shifted :rolleyes:

House prices 150K and sliding, as all surveys go negative YoY and unemployment continues rising.

IR 4.5% kept low against their better judgement by the MPC because of zero growth...

CPI 3.2% and goalposts on target inflation shifted :rolleyes: