House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Terminator

Ok So I’Ve Finally Found A House That I Like…

I have been viewing properties on and off for the last 18 months or so, viewed a house yesterday that I actually quite like. Without giving too much away about the exact house it’s a 4 bed detached period place, good plot, located on a reasonably busy but ‘prime’ road in a nice part of Essex with excellent transport links. In this area these types of properties are few and far between and rarely come to market. Although the house is liveable I would want to gut the place, extend and renovate before moving in.

I already did my research before viewing and the house next door sold for 900k in March 2007 (sold before that for 615k in 2003) as far as I can see the house is identical apart from the one I viewed didn’t have the loft converted and I cant be sure of what the internal condition of the neighbouring house was in when it sold although it looked reasonably tidy from the outside.

The house doesn’t quite tick all the boxes, it’s a little smaller than I would have liked and there is the busy road but apart from that it’s pretty close to what I have been looking for. Obviously the problem for me is the price, they are more or less asking for 25% more then the neighbouring house sold for in 07 but I am unable to find a single index (Nationwide, Halifax or Land registry) to justify the price increase.

It’s all well and good telling me to sit back and wait for the price to fall but the last 2 period houses that came to market in this area sstc within a week…

So I have a few questions that I would like to get the forums opinion on:

1. Do I just have to accept that normal market conditions don’t apply to this type of property?

2. Can it be true that the area I am looking to purchase in really one of those special towns where the people who own property say “prices will never fall round here as its so desirable, good schools, rail links etc” actually be right?