House Price Crash Forum

Council Chief Exec Trougher Gets 7% Pay Increase Now Gets A Mere £168,000

HOLA441

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1357677/Labour-run-council-defies-pay-cut-calls-hikes-council-chiefs-pay-7.html

A Labour-run council jacked up the salary of its chief executive by 7 per cent yesterday in defiance of calls for pay cuts.

Paul Walker’s inflation-busting rise takes his pay to £168,000.

Last night, the decision was condemned by trade unions as ‘morally indefensible’ and the Tories as unjustifiable.

The increase, in Hartlepool, comes as other Labour-led councils in the North are saying Government cuts mean they have no choice but to reduce services for children, the elderly, leisure and libraries, because they have no bureaucratic waste to slash.

In Hartlepool itself, hundreds of council jobs could go, unions say.

The authority is trying to cut its spending by 19 per cent – £14.2 million – and has warned of cuts to public services.

The pay rise was approved by the town’s mayor, Stuart Drummond, who said Mr Walker’s salary had not been reviewed since 2003.

However, the council’s accounts reveal that in the financial year to 2005 his pay was between £120,000 and £130,000.

That means the chief executive had already had increases worth 21 per cent over five years to take his pay to £157,205 before the latest decision to push it up.

Nice.

The elite continue the looting to the bitter end. No money for services but there is for the council chief, I'm betting that this generous pay award won't be given to all staff. They should go on strike until they get there 7% pay increase, plus the strike would help to secure some of the 19% savings.

HOLA442
HOLA443
HOLA444
HOLA445
HOLA446

The increase, in Hartlepool, comes as other Labour-led councils in the North are saying Government cuts mean they have no choice but to reduce services for children, the elderly, leisure and libraries, because they have no bureaucratic waste to slash.