House Price Crash Forum
Nationalist

Cardiff Uni Prof Says Economy Is Built On Sand

I don't know who "Mike" is, but he's just been promoted to Bear (First Class).

I've done my sums (I'm a Cardiff Uni professor in the field), and I personally don't see how we won't be in another mini recession within the next year.

Osborne has fallen into the trap of the majority of tory chancellors of the past.

He's got himself stuck in the inflation trap.

What I'm saying is, he can't keep interest rates at basically 0% for ever, as the markets simply won't let him. They won't even go another 6 months without a demand for a hike.

And the market demands for interest rate hikes, to ease inflation, will almost certainly demolish growth.

What Osborne underestimated, in my opinion, is the amount of business, and growth that is based on debt, and loans.

He may be trying to set good foundations, but he didn't realize that cutting won't achieve it. As the entire economy is built on a house of sand.

What I'm saying is, the UK economy, in truth, is reliant on debt. People borrowing money they can't afford.

Growth at the minute is fictional, as it's allowing these people and these businesses to rebuild with more debt.

The problem Osborne has is this is not sustainable. And sooner or later, he's going to have to ask this recovery, which is superficial, to start paying interest on their debt, and assets.

What I'm saying is, he has a bit of a Catch 22 situation.

He won't be allowed to keep interest at 0% for much longer, as the markets, corporations, and those with wealth, are being stifled, and are not being allowed to grow.

But the minute he raises interest rates, to appease the markets, he's probably going to bankrupt small business, entrepreneurs, and middle England.

Definite recession forumulae.

...of course he forgot to mention the MEW and BTL brigades will also be bankrupted, unless he counts those under "middle England". ;)