House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

thombleached

Families Feeling The Squeeze

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-12283947

I work in the building trade and I've not had a pay rise for four years, this will put further pressure on my income, l just despair.

The building trade is at the lowest ebb l have seen in 40 years in the industry and feel and l'm being penalised for the errors by the banks.

When bank managers are paid bonuses it just proves that for some the recession is still a gravy train. It is one rule for them, one rule for us.

The first thing to suffer has been the holiday.

I work a 45 hour week and it's the only real respite I get from work.

Wow 45 hours you say?

I'm sure you havn't milked it during the boom years at all.

I just wish that l had voted Labour and not this farce of a government. Come back Labour all is forgiven.

Oh my.

I am disgusted that the governor can make comments like that. You can't say it's right. It's not.

Do they struggle to put petrol in their cars to get to work? It's costing me up to £30 a week to get six miles to work in my ten-year-old Fiesta.

Do they struggle when doing the weekly shop and calculate every item that goes into the trolley? Mine's £26 more than it used to be.

Do they live from week to week waiting for the next little bit of money to come in to ensure they can pay for their children's school trips and lunches? My daughter is an only child and I work full time so that she can have them.

We're buying her school clothes from supermarkets now and my mum buys her school shoes once a year. I don't know if I could afford them myself.

She had a second hand present this Christmas.

I have worked since I was 16-years-old, I am now 33 and I have no savings. I worry about my future.

We haven't had a holiday in three years, and shop at cheaper shops, we even think twice about having a sandwich and a drink when we're out.