House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
English Rose

Just 8 Years?

I've seen a few newspaper articles which state that if houseprices remain unchanged, then wages will have caught up within 8 years.

I can't understand this.... possibly because I've never been too good at sums :rolleyes: ... but according to my back of a fag packet calculations:

Let's assume an average house price of £160,000 and average wage of £27,000. Then let's assume average wages rise by an average 4% pa (that's what the Chartered Institute of Personnel reckon they're doing at the moment).

Me and my excel spreadsheet make that 14 years for prices to come back down to x3 average earnings. A heck of a difference from 8 years.

I saw one argument that you had to factor in a 'normal price rise' of 5% to your £160,000 mortgage. Erm... why?

Like I said, I'm not too good at maths, so feel free to point out where I can't add up right! :D

The Economist always seems pretty bearish so a calc from them of 15 years to return to normal sounds about right (in fact postively bullish for the Economist, unless their argument was that in that time you're going to be bound to run into a recession which will bring on something a hell of a lot sharper than a soft landing - which is my pet theory!).

I've seen a few newspaper articles which state that if houseprices remain unchanged, then wages will have caught up within 8 years.

I can't understand this.... possibly because I've never been too good at sums  :rolleyes:  ... but according to my back of a fag packet calculations:

Let's assume an average house price of £160,000 and average wage of £27,000.  Then let's assume average wages rise by an average 4% pa (that's what the Chartered Institute of Personnel reckon they're doing at the moment).

Me and my excel spreadsheet make that 14 years for prices to come back down to x3 average earnings.  A heck of a difference from 8 years.