House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
pajd

I Viewed A House Today

Is this normal? I mean it was literally a couple of hours ago. Do they ring back so soon asking what you thought?

The first offer was X amount at the weekend and someone else offered 3 grand more yesterday (which i think is a ghost offer)

Sorry im a newbie at all this and thats why im asking.

Edited by pajd

Is this normal? I mean it was literally a couple of hours ago. Do they ring back so soon asking what you thought?

The first offer was X amount at the weekend and someone else offered 3 grand more yesterday (which i think is a ghost offer)

Most EA's are liars. One or two on here seem to be reasonable types, but as a rule, they are pretty low in the great scheme of things.

If you ignore everything they say you'll be doing yourself a favour.

Buying a house is like betting on a horse. Believe nothing you hear and only 50% of what you see.

I could never understand why an EA would invent an offer just to increase the price by a few grand. Why risk losing a buyer for the sake of an extra few percent commission? It might be worth it in a sellers market, but at the moment it seems too risky.

How long has the house been on the market?

How often does this happen ... nothing for months and then two offers in the space of a few hours! I think the OP will need to offer at least the asking price and for good measure add 10% and hopefully the EA will prefer the OP over the other applicant and ensure that the OP is successful in winning the competition.

only 10%

he'll need to pledge his teenage daughters too, and even then it will be a bargain as prices only ever go up

It's quite normal and just good sales practice to follow up and see what a potential buyer thought.

Sorry, I don't think you can read 'desperate EA' into this one!

EDIT on reflection, I have had this on other houses that have sold, ifts is on at a good price a developer who wants it could easily offer more.