House Price Crash Forum
bottletop

0% Credit Cards;

certainly seems to be getting harder for those people using 0% BTs to stooze money away. I wonder if a lot of people juggling debt are experiencing the same

http://www.rpoints.com/bb/viewtopic.php?t=1001026

Is anyone else having problems? I've been playing the CC game for 2 years now. Had between 25 and 42k stashed away at 0%. Now my current 0% deals are expiring, and I've been unable to get replacements.

I've recently closed down (last 4 months):

Marbles (9 months at 1.9%)

Barclaycard (18 months at 0%)

Halifax One (9 months at 0%)

Liverpool Victoria (6 months at 0%)

Morgan Stanley (6 months at 0%)

I closed all these by phone, and asked for an extension, but was turned down each time

I've managed to get an M&S card, but have been rejected by MBNA, Citicard, plus Beneficial.

I'm going to wait a few months, and then try again. But are the CC companies getting wise to us? It's the first time in 2 years I've not been able to sustain a 25k debt.

Yup, me and the Mrs have been getting turned down consistently for the past few months now. Managed to get round a few on appeal, but with measly limits. I suspect they're looking at credit records more closely and trying to identify people flitting between offers.

We've both got decent salries, home-owners and spotless credit records.

Ditto Morgan Standley... but I'm not a pro stoozer. For a start, I don't spend that much!

You don't spend anything to stooze. Simply transfer your entire available balance into a high interest savings account for the period of the 0% deal and pocket the interest at the end. It's one of the very few ways you can make money literally for doing nothing.

What's a credit card? Get dozens of offers every week - some at 0% still. Never had one and hope I'll never need one (though I do have a debit card I'm afraid).

Edited by gruffydd