House Price Crash Forum
Normski

Buying A Repossessed House

My wife and I had a second viewing on a repossessed house today.

It's a bit of a wreck, needs partial re-roofing, kitchen, bathroom etc. But it's dry inside, no signs of movement, lots of potential, as Beeney would say.

It's an end terrace in the Cotswold village where my wife grew up, and her mum still lives there. 3 double bedrooms, 2 reception rooms, conservatory.

We've sorted a 5 year fixed mortgage at 3.89% with a LTV of 60%. we've been renting for 18 months since selling our first house.

This is the first suitable place that's come up, and the missus is a total Rightmove freak.

I've got no experience of buying a 'repo'. I understand the process as regards notices in the paper etc but what are the pitfalls/tricks I need to know?

I know what some on here will say about waiting for probable/possible price drops and I understand. This forum is where I spend alot of free time and I achingly want houses to be known as homes again, not investments. There's alot of sense talked here about the theory of why prices will drop. They should, by 30%. They won't though, will they. 10% next year if we're lucky.

Whatever happens, I feel the need to pacify my wife. She's being brave but she sort of needs a house she can call her own. Not logical, but hey-ho.

As regards dealing with the EA (who is dealing with a legal firm who is dealing with the bank) what to do? Both EA's we've seen so far seem very guarded and cagey about any sort of questions I've asked. These guys aren't the sharpest tools in the box, but their behaviour doesn't seem like they want a quick sale. Might just be me over-analysing.

Any tips?

It's a bit of a wreck, needs partial re-roofing, kitchen, bathroom etc. But it's dry inside, no signs of movement, lots of potential, as Beeney would say.

It's an end terrace in the Cotswold village where my wife grew up, and her mum still lives there. 3 double bedrooms, 2 reception rooms, conservatory.