House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Dandy Bear

Reassurance Sought

Hello

This is my first post, on any forum. I have little investment knowledge. I work hard and save what i can. I found this site a few years back and enjoyed reading the posts because they gave me optimism that one day i may be able to afford a house at a reasonable price.

From reading the threads i have learnt bit about gold. Initially i had no savings, but have finally built up a stash of cash. A few months back i thought i really should invest in gold. But i am over cautious. I waited and watched, a little too closely perhaps. I hoped for a correction but, as you know, it didn’t come. Gold was at 1200 dollars an ounce then. I wa sworried i'd missed the boat. If you were me, would you enter the game now? Am i too late or just in time? Should i wait or jump in now. OK so its 1400 now, all time high. I think I'm gonna go for it, probably 10% of my savings on physical gold and 5% on silver. Just looking for reassurance really.

While i'm posting, i have another couple of questions. If I buy silver from Guernsey, 1 coin at a time, its VAT free. If i buy Silver Britannia’s I don’t pay tax on my earnings. Is it possible to buy Britannia’s VAT free from Guernsey? If not, then surely i’m better of buying here and paying VAT as opposed to tax on any future profits?

If I buy >5000 pounds of gold ID is required and the transaction documented. If i sell >5000 pounds of gold is this documented? I guess they won’t pay cash? Britannia’s or not, wont the tax man come looking for me?

First things first.

Gold is $1400 but you are in sterling.

Look at the £ price.

Learn about how the 3 interact ( $/£/gold).

Second, consider your timeframe.

Gold is a long term hold. If looking in terms 5 or 10 years then any price now is a good start. Ignore the daily swings.

First things first.

Gold is $1400 but you are in sterling.

Look at the £ price.

Learn about how the 3 interact ( $/£/gold).