House Price Crash Forum

How Much Is A House Actually Worth?

I don't think it's THE Donald Trump, but it's a nice piece. I salute the guy.

+1 says it all really - could not put it better myself.

All those 'experts' who witter on about - if only the banks will start lending again, if only they broiught back 100% interest only mortgages again, it will all be OK. should read and digest that scholarly summation of what has gone wrong. :)

Very nicely written and good on the guy for posting it. I might forward that in response to pushy folks desperate for me and others in the family to get on the ladder.

"The point is (and I've been saying it for the past 15 years), that house prices are primarily controlled by availability of credit and not by supply and demand. "

I know I've said this before. It is so true; Joe and Josephine Sixpack will pay as much money as the bank will lend them for a house. In an elegant symmetry, the house will cost as much as the bank is willing to lend them (with some lag).

If that second part holds true, house prices should meander downwards until the credit tap is turned on again.

"The point is (and I've been saying it for the past 15 years), that house prices are primarily controlled by availability of credit and not by supply and demand. "

I know I've said this before. It is so true; Joe and Josephine Sixpack will pay as much money as the bank will lend them for a house. In an elegant symmetry, the house will cost as much as the bank is willing to lend them (with some lag).

If that second part holds true, house prices should meander downwards until the credit tap is turned on again.

Imo - this is a better way of thinking about it