House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

CrashedOutAndBurned

Would You Do A Degree Now?

Now the higher education system is just another frikkin' market how would you go about getting a degree?

Would you get one at all?

Would you get a mortgage to go somewhere semi-decent or get a cut-price 2 for 1 offer at the University of Bums-on-seats?

What subject is worth a mortgage-like debt round your neck?

If you had lower-middle class parents would they work the system to make themselves poorer to avoid you getting into debt slavery?

Will naff courses and naff institutions fade away or sell the higher ed. equivelents of a Primark tshirt?

Will the culture of degrees for jobs that really don't need degrees end?

Discuss.

I have an engineering degree, started in the last year of tuition fee free education, no parental help and racked up £7K of debt in 4 years. Now working in related field and it was definitely worth it. The debt was a moderate cost for where I am today.

But there is no way on earth I'd contemplate paying the current £3K fees let alone unlimited fees, I'd find something else to do.

I have an engineering degree, started in the last year of tuition fee free education, no parental help and racked up £7K of debt in 4 years. Now working in related field and it was definitely worth it. The debt was a moderate cost for where I am today.

But there is no way on earth I'd contemplate paying the current £3K fees let alone unlimited fees, I'd find something else to do.