House Price Crash Forum
Bear-ly believe it

Do I Need To 'protect Myself'?!

I know that this subject tends to polarise views on here so I might be overly optimistic in hoping to get some clear cut advice but I'm going to ask anyway.

I have read a lot on here about the threat of inflation or even hyperinflation. I am a student of history so well know the classic account of Weimar Germany, and we have all seen those empty supermarket shelves in news reports from Zimbabwe in more recent times with the huge denomination notes chasing what little there is. The predictions of hyperinflation (as those of hyper deflation) have so far proved wrong with what little extra inflation (over and above target) probably accounted for by the weakening of the pound during the crunch and the knock on effects from that. I am, however, acutely aware that there is a small matter of £200 bn of QE 'in the system' with helicopter Ben probably preparing to create trillions more stateside as well. I read today that it is now expected that we will engage in more QE fairly soon.

This has made me think about the inflation danger again. I find it hard to see how a hyperinflationary spiral could take hold when wage growth is so weak and the economy in a parlous state, but I could be missing something. What do members think? Will we go one way, or the other, or will inflation carry on, maybe a little above target, for a few years with no major calamity?

It is of more than academic interest to me because at present I hold a little bit of cash (about £40k) and own my home with no other debts. The cash is being saved so that we can move to a bigger place mortgage free when some normality returns to house prices. This leaves me exposed to inflation as I can't pay down debt to get rid of the cash if inflation looks likely to erode its value in a serious fashion. I am left uncertain about how best to proceed but hope that someone will be able to offer some calm, reasoned advice on the subject.