House Price Crash Forum
Kyoto

Is Gold Still A Good Investment

According to Alex Jones, and the bloke on his show who sells gold, the answer is a resounding 'yes'.

Personally, I have no idea, but you can't eat gold, which would be a shame in Jones' worst case scenario.

:ph34r:

You post that, I check the price and it is nearly 1% down today. Deliberate?

I am not a professional, just some guy on the internet but I would say it looks overbought at the mo.

Edited by FaFa!

You post that, I check the price and it is nearly 1% down today. Deliberate?

I am not a professional, just some guy on the internet but I would say it looks overbought at the mo.

No, not delibarate. I'm just getting downright scared (too much time on HPC, too much talk of inflation) and genuinally considering moving deposit fund out of cash this week.

Opinions appreciated despite my silly OP.

Two things that worry me:

1) Almost without exception, financial press, investors, people on the street etc ALL think it is a good thing to buy at the moment. I remember a colleague telling me he was 'just getting into tech stocks' in around 1999. This guy had never previously been interested in share dealing. We all know what hapened next.

2) Gold has no intrinsic value. You can't live in it, use it to power your car or heat your home, eat or drink it. The 'value' of gold is perhaps even further detached from its worth than are houses at the moment.

Yet it might still keep going up in price from here. You must, of course make your own conclusions.

No, not delibarate. I'm just getting downright scared (too much time on HPC, too much talk of inflation) and genuinally considering moving deposit fund out of cash this week.

Are you seeing inflation? Or just reading about it? Do you feel squeezed? How are your grocery/utilities bills?