House Price Crash Forum

House crash=general crash? - discuss

From the Guardian Article today:

Mr Calverley is not all doom and gloom, however. He says a fall of 50% in house prices, which would have "catastrophic" consequences for the economy, is unlikely.

Not being an economist I don't know the technicalities, but why is it always assumed that a crash in DOMESTIC property prices implies a general economic collapse? The only people affected, prima facie, are the few professions whose income is reliant on prices rather than turnover and those who overstretched their mortgages or took out multiple mortgages, or borrowed an arm and a leg against their notional house value.

I recognise that an extreme fall might generate bankruptcies which have knock on effects - but surely when the decks are cleared there will be, overall, a benefit to the vast majority. In 1990 it was very different because there was a general recession already in full swing, the pound sank against other currencies and we left the ERM.

That is not the case now, so aside from the inevitable effects on some, we're talking mainly of the notional value for those who already have a house. They can still move and transact because everyone else's house would be at the same level. But with the advantage that FTB's can then keep the "market" alive.

I am also confused by the seemingly odd and constant use of the phrase "slow down" by economists and property professionals, rather than "price reduction". Surely the two are quite distinct. A "slow down" implies fewer transactions, which again mainly affects the profits of EA's, surveyors and other agency-type bodies. In fact it seems to me that the description "slow down" is loaded with self interest on the part of EA's because they are by this admitting that they want high turnover and constant MOVEMENT in the market which manifestly is the only thing which allows them to exist.