House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

workhou

Thinking Of Studying Software Development Ma

I've had discussions and heard from a few software/website developers on this site and I need your input on this one. I need experienced people who work in web/software development to give me some advice here.

I'm currently building a website 'business' but the scale of the task in front of me is daunting but I'm still pretty motivated. To start well I've been studying books/videos on PHP and mySQL to help built on my programming and database knowledge.

I looked at this MA course and I feel it would be very useful for me as I develop my website whilst at the same time give me something I can show employers?

I worked as a data analyst years ago so I have knowledge of Microsoft Access, Impromptu which seems to use a similar query language to mySQL. I wasn't the best data analyst in the world but I came in only with nominal Microsoft Access and Excel skills. I done a marketing degree at university for my sins and it didn't really prepare me for the data analyst job. I'm VERY wary about doing further degrees after my last experience.

I'm currently working in Seoul as a ESL teacher. I reckon I could bang out a few modules complimenting my website business but is it worth it?

So what I want to know is, how respected is this degree in industry? Or, are there other cheaper/better ways to get recognition?

Here's the course details: -

http://www3.open.ac.uk/study/postgraduate/qualification/f26.htm

Thanks for your time.

A friend of mine used to teach this course for the OU - he is a brilliant developer.

I won't go into detail but this is, IMPO, probably not the course you need to do and, again IMPO, I doubt that any such course would actually help you. If anything, it would simply add additional stress and hassle to something which can also be very stressful to learn IMPO.