House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
The Masked Tulip

What Is The Point Of A 1000 Year Lease To The Leaseholder?

I was looking at a house which states this and I thought what is the point? This is in Swansea and not central London.

In a 1,000 years the place could be beach front property with global warming or it could be under water or it could have been nuked.

I know nothing about leases so is this common? Why not just sell the freehold?

I was looking at a house which states this and I thought what is the point? This is in Swansea and not central London.

In a 1,000 years the place could be beach front property with global warming or it could be under water or it could have been nuked.

Control.

Ground rent. Usually something silly like £10 a year.

I assume from when £10 used to be worth something and not just something kids get to spend on sweets during the fakerecession.

Control.

In a way yes.

I'm not a lawyer, but I understand with a leasehold property the freeholder can impose rules on what you can do in/with them. Sometimes these rules are regarded as being for the general good (no pets, no music after 11:00, no panting your house pink, etc) and so are accepted, even liked by the residents.

Personally I think that leasing property should be illegal, and all freeholds should pass to the leaseholder.

Some marinas have leasehold homes, to prevent "owners" building odd extentions, or painting them in a colour that is out of character with the rest of the homes.

Oh and the freeholder, somewhere down the line far in the future will receive a nice windfall, when the leaseholder wishes to extend the lease.

Edited by Money Spinner

How much is the rental on a lease in the regions then - I assumed it was a few grand like the stuff that people who buy into new buid flats have to pay?

You are confusing ground rent (low figure) with service charge (high figure). I would not have thought a leasehold house would require a service charge.