House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Limpet

Car Insurance

About a year and a half ago I scrapped my old Proton and started a period of being carless. Basically I`m a bit lazy, I don`t like spending money and I couldn`t be bothered to look around for one.

During this time I was a named driver on the wifes car which we shared about 50/50.

Anyway just the other week I took the leap and bought another motor. While browsing the web for insurance quotes it surprised me to discover that if I`d gone without personal motor insurance for another 5 months or so all my previous No Claims Bonus was likely to become void and I would have to start again from square one.

I`ve been a driver for about 30 years ( accident free ) and I wasn`t aware of this, I suppose because It never became an issue, although further investigation seems to show that it`s pretty much standard procedure.

So basically this is just for information in case anyone out there is in a similar situation. Something to watch out for. It certainly took me by surprise.

About a year and a half ago I scrapped my old Proton and started a period of being carless. Basically I`m a bit lazy, I don`t like spending money and I couldn`t be bothered to look around for one.

During this time I was a named driver on the wifes car which we shared about 50/50.

Anyway just the other week I took the leap and bought another motor. While browsing the web for insurance quotes it surprised me to discover that if I`d gone without personal motor insurance for another 5 months or so all my previous No Claims Bonus was likely to become void and I would have to start again from square one.

I`ve been a driver for about 30 years ( accident free ) and I wasn`t aware of this, I suppose because It never became an issue, although further investigation seems to show that it`s pretty much standard procedure.