House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Bovril

Uk Film Council Axed

I am a newbie poster, but have been lurking for years.. just wondered what everyone thought of the UK Film Council being axed? I have worked with them for many years (not for them luckily) and I have always thought them to be a massive waste of our cash. They encourge UK film makers to make complete dross in order to tick all their boxes so that they can recieve funding from them (the taxpayer). And I've never quite understood why UK tax payers fund 'directors' from France etc to make their first short film. Shame for the 75 people that will be out of work though.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-10761225

We were discussing this yesterday and wondered how much money went into films and how much into their salaries.

75 people at 240k each and nothing for films?

Excellent news.

Not a shame for the 75 - go and make that movie and sell it! They've been arsing about DSFA for years since graduating from Film Studies. So go and make a film, documentary or short.

Guest sillybear2

I can't really see the point, it just seems like a way for luvvies to funnel public funds to cronies so they can produce unpopular politically correct polemics that will never be given a general release, or bomb at the box office, or a way of providing tax payer subsidy to highly commercial films that would be made anyway :-

"Alex Cox, director

It's very good news for anyone involved in independent film. The Film Council became a means by which lottery money was transferred to the Hollywood studios. It pursued this phoney idea that James Bond and Harry Potter were British films. But, of course, those films were all American – and their profits were repatriated to the studios in Los Angeles."