House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
djm1972

How About Allowing Taxed Withdrawal Of Trivial Pension Funds?

Back when I graduated; I got a job, thought it would be "for life" :rolleyes: and joined the company pension scheme without giving it a second thought - it just seemed like the done thing. Anyway, over the course of the next few years both the company, and the economy, turned to dust. No need for details; but over the course of mergers, acquisitions and other nonsense; I am now in the position of having this ridiculously complicated split-fund (to cover opted-in and opted-out nonsense) of about £13K.

It's all too complicated to be merged with a nice straight forward simple private pension and It's going to be worth next to nothing all by the time I retire. I could put it to far better use now if the Government would let me and millions like me to have back pathetic, complex little funds like this in order to clean up and reset our pension plans.

Or blow on a new car... <_<

I expect a SIPP/Stakeholder/Personal Pension provider would be happy to deal with the hassle of transferring it. Mine certainly would, as they never tire of pointing out.

I expect a SIPP/Stakeholder/Personal Pension provider would be happy to deal with the hassle of transferring it. Mine certainly would, as they never tire of pointing out.

There are rules that often forbid this regardless of how willing the pensione company are to receive the money

tim

Back when I graduated; I got a job, thought it would be "for life" :rolleyes: and joined the company pension scheme without giving it a second thought - it just seemed like the done thing. Anyway, over the course of the next few years both the company, and the economy, turned to dust. No need for details; but over the course of mergers, acquisitions and other nonsense; I am now in the position of having this ridiculously complicated split-fund (to cover opted-in and opted-out nonsense) of about £13K.