House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
wtw2

£3500 To Invest - What Would You Do?

Hi Guys,

I have came across this site yesterday. Tonnes and tonnes of information on it. My question is, what would be the best way to invest £3500 to protect me from the £ inflation with it just sitting in the bank.

I am tempted with a NS&I Index-linked Savings Certificate, (how does this protect you from the £ devaluation ?) would this be a safe bet or what would be the best ROI on my £3500 with safety bearing in mind?

There just seems a world of info on here and everywhere. I really dont know where to begin as I am a complete newbie to investing.

Cheers wtw2.

Hi Guys,

I have came across this site yesterday. Tonnes and tonnes of information on it. My question is, what would be the best way to invest £3500 to protect me from the £ inflation with it just sitting in the bank.

I am tempted with a NS&I Index-linked Savings Certificate, (how does this protect you from the £ devaluation ?) would this be a safe bet or what would be the best ROI on my £3500 with safety bearing in mind?

There just seems a world of info on here and everywhere. I really dont know where to begin as I am a complete newbie to investing.

Cheers wtw2.

If you primarily care about safety and just want to preserve the value of your money, then the NS&I certs are a good bet so long as you don't need the money in a hurry. The won't protect you against the pound falling in value against other currencies but they will protect you against inflation (they're RPI linked and tax free). Failing that, I'd suggest spending it on crack cocaine and hookers whilst its still worth something.