House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
VeryMeanReversion

Trade Imbalances Caused House Price Boom?

With much of the UK total debt being owned externally, I wonder if the house price boom and subsequent recession were really caused by trade imbalances. Some countries (e.g UK) just kept importing more than they exported for many years, the money used just came back into the housing markets and other loans, artificially labelled as AAA super safe. Trade doesn't seem to be much of a financial media issue in the current crisis as far as I can see.

Funny really that by buying an excess of foreign products, the money is lent back to us again to buy more foreign products and simultaneously make our houses more expensive via bank leverage.

Until trade is balanced (via much lower real wages), I think the debt can only be shifted back and forth between the public and private sectors. An austerity plan that doesn't result in rebalancing trade will just cause a permanent downward spiral IMHO.

So an austerity plan really needs to be a lower-real-wage plan (disguised for minimum public acceptance and why no one will ever vote for it).

Another funny thing is that by bailing out the worst banks, we missed a big chance to stiff a lot of external creditors (where the risk belonged) and instead, dump it fully on the UK taxpayers.

Your thoughts please.

VMR.

Yes of course!

The problem as I keep saying is that China and Germany need to spend more, consume and inflate and stop accumulating surpluses which they don't need.

We've spent a decade lowering living standards by scrapping private pensions, lowering real wages (I'm not convinced house prices have risen so much rather real wages have relatively declined) and public sector has been forced to take up the slack.

Now the public sector is the last shoe to drop as it were.

But the underlying problem remains - China and Germany's trade surplus policy.