House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
jones87

Hpi? What About Commercial Property Inflation?

Currently looking for a 1,000sqF+ retail shop to rent and seeing some of the rents I was curious to know how much commercial property has increased in value?

I'm new to commercial property so hearing about "rent free periods" and "self repairing" is all new to me.

I also noticed some properties we're for example: £20,000pax or £240,000 freehold, which makes me assume they value commerical property at 12x rental income?

So many shops are empty in shopping centre's and area's around me, it's no surprise when you see the rents being asked

Should we expect commercial rents to come down only as land values come down? Is there any correlation between HPI and commercial property inflation?

Currently looking for a 1,000sqF+ retail shop to rent and seeing some of the rents I was curious to know how much commercial property has increased in value?

I'm new to commercial property so hearing about "rent free periods" and "self repairing" is all new to me.

I also noticed some properties we're for example: £20,000pax or £240,000 freehold, which makes me assume they value commerical property at 12x rental income?

So many shops are empty in shopping centre's and area's around me, it's no surprise when you see the rents being asked

Should we expect commercial rents to come down only as land values come down? Is there any correlation between HPI and commercial property inflation?

Defnitely a strong correlation - off of this has been driven by kow inetrest rates that have just bubbled up pricing - to the point where operating a business in these places is simply not viable, going rental and upping sticks time and again is not an option for many businesses so the headlne price can and does destroy business.

Be really careful of full repairing leases - could be a financial death warrant in the wrong circumstances.

Edited by OnlyMe