House Price Crash Forum
Fully Detached

Ons Average Earnings Chart

I've been messing about with charts again, and had a look at average house prices vs average earnings. I'll say now that I am no expert with this, so feel free to point out any errors in the graphs below. But if I haven't done something stupid, then the results are a little surprising.

Graph 1 below is based on:

- Nationwide average house price.

- ONS average earnings, excluding bonus, seasonally adjusted.

- 4.1 x earnings.

Just to clarify, I used 4.1x for two reasons - firstly that it is the figure that Nationwide recently claimed was the long term, and secondly because an increased multiple helps to highlight movement in average earnings that would not be so obvious otherwise. If anyone wants to see a 3.5x or 3x multiplier I'm happy to do that.

Also, the average earnings is taken from the ONS AEI index, so in order to put a pounds sterling figure on this, I used the average salary of £21,842 in 2000 - which was the best figure I could find online. Again, if anyone can come up with a better figure, I'll happily change that.

Avg Earnings SA.jpg

So the surprising thing is the sudden recent uptick in average earnings, which the 4.1x multiplier shows pretty clearly. To look at this a bit further, I overlaid the NSA figure in yellow in the graph below (although the multiplier is still based on the SA figure):

Avg Earnings NSA.jpg

You can see from this that upward spikes in the NSA figure are quite common, but this one looks steeper than most and possibly just a touch bigger than normal - and this shows in the fact that the SA figure is also pronounced.

So, is this noise? Is the figure likely to be revised down? Have I got something hopelessly wrong? I can't for the life of me think that wages are rising in this climate, but that's what the data shows, so...

"Is this the start of the wage inflation spiral?"

<ducks and runs for cover>