House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
lewissheridan

What Is Happening To House Prices ?

What is happening to house prices ? I have been renting for about 18 months now, saved a deposit, and squandered a deposit, I don't see any significant movement in prices at all in my area, and generally across the Surrey area of which i'm looking.

The average prices i'm experiencing for 1-bed flats is circa £115 - £130, studios are 90k +, I mean what on earth is happening ? 1-bed starter homes begin at £140ish and then it all just sky-rockets upwards.

I'm 25, and friends 5 years older than me can't see why i don't buy now. But i argue, when they bought, they've had plenty of equity to jump up to the next rung, the ladder has been pulled up and we can't get on. Yet contrary to this,people are still borrowing and still buying, with only negliable decline. With lowering of interest rates to stimulate the economy and the near stop in high-street spending when will these artificially inflated house prices come back down to a level of normality so that us first-time buyers can purchase a house?

I am really becoming bitter about this whole situation and really do despise people who own multiple homes, and btl'rs all profiting from our misery !! When did houses start becoming an investment vehicle/assets and stop becoming homes ??

I'm 25, earn an average wage, 25k a year, yet i'm paying in excess of £750 a month just to live in this country, that's including rent, council tax, bills etc etc. That represents 50% of my income after tax pretty much, i really don't have room to save at all !?! A 3.5 income multiple provides me with borrowing potential crica 90k, and to be honest, i don't want to live in a studio flat in a dingey part of town.

If you are a first time buyer what reasons are making you buy at these astromical prices ? Because you are the people to blame for prolonging the agony to be honest.

So, what is happening to house prices ? :huh: