House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

pl1

Mapping Printers Using Active Directory

I'm a reluctant part-time IT admin for a remote site and there is a PC there that multiple people log onto but I always need the same printers mapped to it. I know you can add them as local ports but I'd like to do it through Active Directory as this site is fully AD enabled (it's own seperate forest as I understand it) and I'm marginally curious how this would be achieved using AD/GPO. It's 2003 server which is the only server in the forest so it does everthing on the admin side of things fsmo etc. I know you probably need a GPO and/or a login script but I need spoonfeeding the info as my Google searches haven't been productive. I've read about the 2003 R2 push printer software? but it talks about updating the AD schema and I am reluctant to do this, especially if it requires reboots and bearing in mind my lack of knowledge in this area if it screws up.

So basically, one computer always needs the same 2 printers no matter who logs on. If possible I'd like it to log on quickly so I'm unsure if a login script that maps the printer on the fly each time would cause an extra delay at logon?

Thanks,

technet?

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc784753(WS.10).aspx

You haven't told us if it is a big fancy printer with can get on the network on it's own, a printer connected to a PC or a print server.

There's two and they are bog standard network printers on the only server there obviously as thats why I was asking about AD. If they were local I would use add/remove printers as local ports and it wouldn't matter who logged onto the pc.

I might bump this tomorrow when there's some bored AD admins loitering :lol: