House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ken_ichikawa

Bicycles

Hi

The constant increase in the price of petrol is annoying me as is the lack of employment for another month or so. I have an old old mountain bike but it has knobbly tyres.

Anybody recommend a place to get road tyres? What brand/make would you recommend?

Also does it really make a huge amount of difference to erm rolling resistance the knobbly tyres compared to road tyres?

Thanks

Never tried road tyres in the UK but with all the potholes and sh1 t on the road, I'd be tempted to keep your existing tyres on.

If you use your bike regularly they'll wear bald in no time anyway :D That's what happened to my last bike, only went to the shops daily about 15 mins each way and within 6 months they were bald.

I'm not an expert on old old mountain bikes, but I'd guess it has 26" tyres, so make sure you get the right size (it should be on the side of the tyre). Can't recommend any particular place to buy them other than your local bike shop.

Knobbly as opposed to road tyres makes a huge difference in rolling resistance. I'd go for the smoothest you can find, with some sort of puncture resistance, perhaps Specialized Armadillo. Note also that smooth tyres aren't any slipperier than ones with tread, which seems counterintuitive. I only bring that up because smooth tyres scare some people.

Personally i would keep them on for fitness training if your only ever go short range 20 miles. It adds a ton of effort, youll get fit fast.

On the flip side if you try 35+ miles it will hurt like a barsteward, if your off work and bored brainless and just want to goooo, then yes slicks are excellent. I would also recommend making some cycling pals, cycling and pubs go well together. Also those friends may have spare slicks they can give you! Dont forgethttp://www.uk.freecycle.org/ you may be able to blag some in the wanted section or even a whole bike.