House Price Crash Forum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest Elephant_In_The_Room

Joining A Union

Guest DestroyBrown

Your opinions please.

Have you ever needed to use them? and if so, did they achieve anything for you?

Guest X-QUORK

Your opinions please.

I joined one when I was an employee at a large Corporate which had a habit of expanding and contracting every couple of years. At first we didn't have enough members to force recognition, but we got there eventually. I would say it helped to have someone on your side in terms of employment law, as well as arranging various financial packages on the cheap for members...but I was fortunate enough to not need them "in anger" as it were.

I suspect the company behaved a little better once it knew it had an organised workforce to contend with.

Your opinions please.

This depends on your job and the union.

I work in IT.... there are no strong IT unions..... I was briefly unionised for a year or so under a Transport Union, made absolutely no difference as it happens (never needed to call on them) and probably wouldn't have done even if I needed to as approximately 0 other people in my office were also unionised.

OTOH.... the wife is a teacher.... their union kicks serious ar*e because almost every teacher is a member of one or t'other union. Consequently she gets very heavy duty backup in any work related issues with management and, frankly, management are terrified of doing anything that might make the union angry. So for her it's very definitely worth it. I'd say she and other teachers have much higher pay, and are very well protected from being dicked with by management unfairly.