House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
spoon

Humility Is Your Greatest Asset.

as a trader i find HUMILITY is your greatest tool. no matter how great your calls, no matter how great that winning streak, it pays to be humble and mindful of the speed with which things may go wrong. a closely related skill is the ability to be QUICK.

last night i met a young intelligent lady. she's made a small fortune on BTLING EIGHT properties. i put it to her that she might consider pulling out and taking the safe option of a relatively risk free savings account. she wouldn't reveal her current returns nor how much equity she had built up but i could tell she was close to the edge and that her CURRENT returns were not spectacular.

she views her current position as a CHALLENGE that she'll meet head on by buying and letting smarter. i think most of the BTL brigade see the coming months and years as a CHALLENGE that must be NEGOTIATED. it's the price they must pay to participate in the NEXT LEG UP in property. parking their equity in a savings account would be just far too SENSIBLE.

they've become EMOTIONALLY ATTACHED to their positions. admitting you are wrong or that a successful trade has run it's course is the HARDEST thing to do. these middle income BTL types WILL propel the market DOWN. but they're sitting OKAY right now so it will take time.

Edited by spoon

as a trader i find HUMILITY is your greatest tool. no matter how great your calls, no matter how great that winning streak, it pays to be humble and mindful of the speed with which things may go wrong. a closely related skill is the ability to be QUICK.