House Price Crash Forum
DRS

Ipo Question

Hi guys. I was wondering if someone could help me with this. Excuse my ignorance as I'm new on shares/equity etc.

A friend of mine has been offered via his stockbroker some shares in a company prior to its market float. He has been told these will be at a discount to what they will be worth once floated(I know thats not a cert).

The question is how does one go about trying to figure out whether the price they are being offered at actually represents value over what they will be worth once floated. Which indices/numbers should I be looking at

Any help offered will be appreciated as I am a novice. I do however accept this is a high risk stategy

ps I'm obviously asking because I'm thinking about joining him :)

Hi DRS. I wouldn't count as an expert but have some understanding of this. I too am currently looking at a company (called Europol), which is raising some funds, supposedly ahead of an IPO on AIM. I will just make a few general points and these are of course all my own opinions and you should do your own research:

- Number 1 question is "is this a good company". You can look at their share offer document (I assume it is always biased), check out their web site (in the case of the one I'm looking at it's pants!), and look at the management's experience and the existing customer base and figures.

- Look at the market: are they in a growth sector, how competitive is it, do they have some key knowledge/technology/relationships