House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Kam

Picking Shares

I'm totally new to share investing and all my trading is virtual,

still trying to get my head around how to pick shares. So far I have been pick shares in sectors that I know about or have interests in

IT & telecomms- its what I know

Mining - I have interest in geology, speleology and minerals

Renewable energys - ethics and an interest

just wondered how others pick investments and why?

I know DrBubb is in to mining, is this because you work in the sector or other reason? (do you get to go down mines in your travels, I'd waste to much time collecting specimens rather than assessing the potential for profit)

Edited by Kam

Guest muttley

The best answer I can give is rather boring.

Do lots of research,and only buy a stock that you are prepared to put in the time AFTER you have bought it.

For this reason it is probably wise to stick to what you know at first.

Read a book...there are lots around.

DIVERSIFY!!!!

Again it sounds a bit boring,but if you don't then you are not an investor,you are a gambler.(I speak from experience)

Finally,don't listen to some bloke off the internet!!! :blink:

Good luck!!!

(Oh,and don't trust to luck)

Guest growl
I'm totally new to share investing and all my trading is virtual,

still trying to get my head around how to pick shares. So far I have been pick shares in sectors that I know about or have interests in

IT & telecomms- its what I know

Mining - I have interest in geology, speleology and minerals

Renewable energys - ethics and an interest

just wondered how others pick investments and why?

I know DrBubb is in to mining, is this because you work in the sector or other reason?  (do you get to go down mines in your travels, I'd waste to much time collecting specimens rather than assessing the potential for profit)