House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
gruffydd

Fish, Toasters And Clothes

Left my office for about the first time in three weeks yesterday and went on a day trip to Sunny South Wales. A few things I noticed - Cardiff all bus fares going up 15p because of the cost of fuel, tuna fish in my local supermarket up from 59p-80p a can, etc., etc., loads of signs of inflationary pressures. I used to work as a labourer on a trawler when I was younger, and fishing is v energy-intensive.

On the other side of the Celtic Sea, there's been panic buying (perhaps an exaggeration?) of toasters and other electrical items in Ireland - apparently there's some new recyling of electrical goods law that the EU is about to enforce there that's going to massively increase the cost of electrical goods. Is this law going to be enacted in the UK????

Also, bumped into my old import-export agent boss yesterday and he was being severely impacted on by the EU barrier to Asian-Chinese garments that's just been erected (blocking millions of garments which have been already been ordered by the retailers - I can just imagine the reaction of the buyers!). Clothes inflation anyone?

Edited by gruffydd

Guest Riser
On the other side of the Celtic Sea, there's been panic buying (perhaps an exaggeration?) of toasters and other electrical items in Ireland - apparently there's some new recyling of electrical goods law that the EU is about to enforce there that's going to massively increase the cost of electrical goods. Is this law going to be enacted in the UK????

From this weeks "Professional Engineer"

Electronics recycling hits a weee problem

A KEY electronics wast directive has been put on hold for the second time, raising questions about the governments ability to execute European Legislation. The Waste Electrical and Electronics Equipment (Weee) directive is intended to reduce the estimated six million tonnes of unwanted electrical goods thrown out each year in Europe.....