House Price Crash Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Marc Stock

Hello Everybody! I Am A Newbie.

Over the past 2 years i have kept an eye on the UK housing market very keenly, and i am worried, very worried.

I am not a houseowner yet, I so want to get into my own house but prices are just too high even on my wage (which is well above average, i am not filthy rich but i am not exactly living on the breadline either).

I am concerned not just for my own selfish reasons, which seems to be expressed by many on this site, but also for the poor old souls who have taken out huge debts to 'succed in property'.

My very best friend purshased a property in Andover just as the housing boom started. This was a good move for him as he purchased a 2 bed end of terrace house for only £78k. Within a year the value shot up to £105k and now its currently 'worth' £170k. Thats cool, good on him. Granted, i am a little jealous but at the end of the day if i was him i would be smiling. Now this is why am a worried, he has just puchased a second property with a bigger garden and 2 more rooms, in the same area. I am not sure exaclty how much for, but its got to be at least in the £200k and upwards reigon. This is alarming as i feel he is making a big mistake, with the houses as they are at the moment. Whats even worse is that he has taken out an additional mortgage for what would have to be near on 100% of that value again, as he is still keeping his old house & is renting it out.

Is this too much of a gamble? I think so. I am very worried not just for my best mate (i have told him how i feel) but also for the rest of 'new money' youngsters who are littrally putting all their eggs in one basket.

I am glad that I am not a house owner right now, I am cash rich and debt free i will buy low, and keep my feet on the ground and look at alterative investments also.

What are your opinions?

Welcome, Marc Stock!