House Price Crash Forum

Problem with landlady- rent increase

Usually landlady has been fine, we've been in the house for 12 months now and yesterday (4th August) received a letter from the landlady saying she wants to increase the rent by £50 each month and this will take place from this months payment (which is due on August 19th)

Now Im no expert but I dont think this is allowed! Can anyone shed any more light?

Boyfriend is calling citizens advice today but he may not be able to get through so asking you guys as well!

That place is [swearing removed by moderator] hilarious!

On a side note, maybe you can help me with a little problem here, usually the gas/electricity/water/insurance supplier have been fine, we've been paying the bills for 12 months now and yesterday (12th August) received a letter from them saying they want to increase the bill each month, and this will take place from next month!!

Now Im no expert but I dont think this is allowed! Can anyone shed any more light?

Guest Bart of Darkness
On a side note, maybe you can help me with a little problem here, usually the gas/electricity/water/insurance supplier have been fine, we've been paying the bills for 12 months now and yesterday (12th August) received a letter from them saying they want to increase the bill each month, and this will take place from next month!!

The nerve. I'd complain to your MP. ;)

You were bang on OLDFTB when youy called it girly. Never seen so much pointless clutter (most of it pink).

Although they do have a link to the "Vocation" video.

Looks like the landlady is short on cash :)

The answer to that one is simple - just cancel the standing order or direct debit before the payment leaves, and instruct a BACS payment or send a cheque for the original amount, then have the debate.

I'd suggest that when they leave, they withhold the last month's payment altogether in lieu of deposit, and give no more than 15 days notice.